Go to content

Main menu:

Keynote Speakers

1. Professor Tadahiro Goda
     National Insitute of Advanced Industrial Science and TEchnology, Japan

Title: State of the art of Japanese Power Grid and Future Sustainable Green Energy Grid

     The earthquake and tsunami in the Kanto and Tohoku districts on 2011 greatly changed the energy situation in    Japan.  The center of energy in Japan until 2011 was nuclear energy. However, after 2011 the use of nuclear energy became difficult. As a result, Japan's energy self-sufficiency rate is 6%, which value is the world's lowest level.  Means to increase the energy self-sufficiency rate is the use of renewable energy such as solar power and wind power.  For this purpose, Japanese government plans to raise the use of renewable energy to 25% in 2030 and 50% in 2050.Therefore, the situation of the earthquake and tsunami in 2011, energy self-sufficiency rate in Japan and construction situation of smart grid are introduced in this paper. And this paper also introduces testing equipment of PCS and power storage system, which are key technologies to construct smart grid.  Also new power flow calculation method, which is able to calculate frequency, and concept of the future sustainable green energy grid are introduced in this paper. The new concept of energy grid is renewable energy power to hydrogen.

Brief Biography
      Dr. Goda was born in Hyogo Prefecture of Japan in 1947. He was awarded a master's degree in March 1973, and doctor’s degree in April 1998 from Osaka University respectively. He joined Mitsubishi Electric Co. in April 1973 and served as General manager of Electric Power System Engineering Department and General manager of Power Transmission and Distribution Group. In early retirement of Mitsubishi Electric Co. in March 2006, he became a professor at Kyushu University in April 2006. He retired from Kyushu University in March 2013 and assumed the position of a professor at Doshisha University in April of the same year. From April 2018 he is a visiting professor at Aichi Institute of Technology. His field of expertise is protection and control of the power system. Current research area are micro grid and smart grid.

2. Professor Yoshikazu Miyanaga
     Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan


Title: Noise Robust Speech Recognition for AI-ROBOT

     This topic introduces the design of a noise robust speech recognition system. It is suitable for communication robots including an AI-ROBOT. For the valuable communication robots, a strong noisy robust speech recognition has been demanded. Although the dialog mechanism as human communications is one of interesting features into a robot, the command-based communications to a robot may be also important. When we consider the development of a command-based automatic speech recognition (ASR) system, we can design a strong robust ASR against various noise circumstances.
In this presentation, new advanced speech analysis techniques named time varying speech features have been introduced. In order to develop the robustness under low SNR, Dynamic Range Adjustment (DRA) and Modulation Spectrum Control (MSC) have been proposed for the obtained time-varying speech features and they focus on the speech feature adjustment with an important speech components. DRA normalizes dynamic ranges and MSC eliminates the noise corruption of speech feature parameters.
Even if these proposed algorithms are applied to noisy speech, it is difficult to recognize several similar pronunciation phrases. Discrimination of similar pronunciation phrases is more difficult than that of normal phrases under low SNR circumstances. In this topic, we introduce the use of fast Fourier transform (FFT) based mel-frequency cepstral coefficients (MFCC) and time-varying linear predictive coding (tvLPC) based MFCC. Due to the presence of intra-frame variations in tvLPC, it is expected that this approach can improve speech recognition. Evaluation results demonstrate that the proposed approach achieves better speech recognition performance at low SNR conditions.

Brief Biography
      He received the B.S., M.S., and Dr. Eng. degrees from Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan, in 1979, 1981, and 1986, respectively.  Since 1983 he has been with Hokkaido University. He is Dean and Professor, Graduate School of Information Science and Technology, Hokkaido University.  From 1984 to 1985, he was a visiting researcher at Department of Computer Science, University of Illinois, USA.

His research interests are in the areas of speech signal processing, wireless communication signal processing and low-power consumption VLSI system design.  He has published 3 books, over 150 Transaction/Journal papers, and around 300 International Conference/Symposium/Workshop papers.

Dr. Miyanaga served as an editor-in-chief of IEICE ESS (2016-present).  He was an associate editor of IEEE CAS Society Transaction on Circuits and Systems II (2012-2014), and he is also an editor-in-chief of Journal of Signal Processing, RISP Japan (2014-present).

He was a delegate of IEICE, Engineering Sciences Society Steering Committee, i.e., IEICE ESS Officers from 2004 to 2006. He was a chair of Technical Group on Smart Info-Media System, IEICE (IEICE TG-SIS) during the same period and now a member of the advisory committee, IEICE TG-SIS. He was the President, IEICE Engineering Science (ES) Society (2015-2016). He is Fellow member of IEICE.

He served as a member in the board of directors, IEEE Japan Council as a chair of student activity committee from 2002 to 2004.  He was a chair of IEEE Circuits and Systems Society, Technical Committee on Digital Signal Processing (IEEE CASS DSP TC) (2006-2008). He was a distinguished lecture (DL) of IEEE CAS Society (2010-2011) and he was a Board of Governor (BoG) of IEEE CAS Society (2011-2013). He is now a chair of IEEE Sapporo Section (2017-present).

He has been serving as a member of international advisory committee, IEEE ISPACS (2005-present), and IEEE ISCIT (2006-present). He was an honorary chair and general chair/co-chairs of international symposiums/workshops, i.e., ISCIT 2005, NSIP 2005, ISCIT 2006, SISB 2007, ISPACS 2008, ISMAC 2009, ISMAC2010, APSIPA ASC 2009, IEICE ITC-CSCC 2011, APSIPA ASC 2011, IEEE ISCIT 2012, ISMAC 2011, ISPACS2011, ISCIT2015, ISCIT2016, ISPACS2016, ISCIT2017, ISCAS2019 and so on.

Back to content | Back to main menu